Adobe Certified Expert (ACE)

Have you ever considered of becoming an Adobe Certified Expert? I do from time to time. I like the process of studying and preparing for the exam, the pressure to undergo the exam, and the satisfaction of passing the exam and be able to show others that I really know the software that I am suppose to know. Now that the CS3 is shipping, I have set myself the goal of becoming ACE. So for the next few months I would need to be quite disciplined.

Updated (7th March 2008): Happy to say that I have passed the Flash CS3 ACE Exam today. It is a big relief! Next target is Dreamweaver CS3.

Updated (22nd April 2008): Relieved to say that I have passed the Dreamweaver ACE Exam today. Next target is Flex Builder 3.

~ by brianchau on May 2, 2007.

35 Responses to “Adobe Certified Expert (ACE)”

  1. I’ve done the Flash MX and MX 2004 developer exams in the past and found them quite worthwhile. Only downside is that Macromedia always felt the need to put in quite a few questions about the stupid Macromedia components, which I never use.
    Now that the title is ACE instead of MCFD I’m sure a lot more people will be sitting the exam though!

  2. Hi Brian,

    My name is Pongsak T., GameMaker Co.,Ltd. (www.gamemaker.co.th/en). We are working on the Academy project to supply Flash tranning course to developer in Thailand. What do you think I shoudl start with? Shall we keep in touch so that we can share more idea among us.

    My e-mail is pongsak@gamemaker.co.th . Looking forward ot hear from you.

  3. Well, this link came to me in Google as 11th for “adobe certified expert’.

    I’m in England, considering going for a Master certificate. Looks like it would cost me $450 and 3 exams. This sounds about right?

  4. In Australia, the cost of one Adobe software exam is about A$205. For Macromedia software, it is about A$105 each. Wonder how much it would be when Dreamweaver CS3 and Flsah CS3 exams become available.

  5. I haven’t been able to find any information on an ACE for Flash CS3. I don’t think they offer that exam yet, which is disappointing.

  6. All CS3 ACE exams have been released – follow this link for prices and exam preparation guides: http://partners.adobe.com/public/ace/main.html – and good luck.

  7. Brian: Congratulations! What books or other resources did you use to prepare for the exam?

  8. Jim, for the exam I relied a lot on the Flash Help. I think I have read through most of the Help on Using Flash and Programming with AS3. That gave me lots of confidence in going into the exam.

  9. Hi guys,

    My name is Biro Barna and I’m from Romania ( Europe ). I knew that such a certificate existed before but I wasn’t really interested in it, until now. I recently decided that I’d like to make this step and be a certified Adobe Expert but I’m kinda stuck. I’m posting this in hope of finding some answers from people who are more experienced and know what all this is about:

    1) I surfed the Adobe site all day but it’s simply confusing and I get lost whenever I try to sign up. Could someone point me to the exact link for the ACE on Flash CS3 because I swear that I can’t find it…

    2) Since I’m not from the US, I’m not even sure if I can take this exam from Romania and I’m having a hard time finding any information on this ( I don’t know of any Institutions in the country that have anything to do with Adobe ). Could someone point me in a direction ?

    PS: @ misterscheff, thanks for posting the link with the prices.

    Thanks guys.

  10. Ahh, one more thing. Regarding the registration: can you register at any time and attend the exam when you think you are ready or does the registration mean that once you register “you are prepared to take the exam ‘NOW'” ? Thanks and sorry for my ignorance.

  11. The process is very good. Sign up an account and register for an exam. Pick the exam centre and date. And that is it. At any time up to 24 hours before the exam, you can change the exam centre or date or time. All done online. Easy.

  12. Thanks for the reply. I spent my whole day surfing and reading, I finally got my questions answered. Thanks again, have a nice day.

  13. can you provide us with some more imformation about the flash certification exam
    regards
    nikhil

  14. There is the preparation guide and the link to the Prometric web site for registering for the exam at:

    http://partners.adobe.com/public/ace/main.html

  15. For anybody looking to get certified as an ACE it is definitely worth checking out http://www.examaids.com/ They currently have exam preparation guides for Photoshop, Illustrator, Flash and InDesign CS3. I used it when I prepared for my Photoshop CS2 exam, and it is definitely worth it. Oh, and I passed my Photoshop CS3 recertification exam two weeks ago. I prepared for that using the Photoshop help files. Good luck to everyone planning to take the exams!

  16. Do Flex 3 certificates exist or only for Flex 2 ? Because I’ve been looking for some info on Flex 3 but I can only find ACE on Flex 2. Thanks.

  17. BiRO, you are right. At present, we have Flex 2 certification only. As for Flex 3 certification, I suppose over time, it would be updated:

    http://partners.adobe.com/public/ace/main.html

  18. Many thanks for the info Brian.

  19. These exams are a total scam! Full of poorly worded, ambiguous and irrelevant questions. I have passed both Photoshop and Flash.

    I recently wrote a Dreamweaver CS3 exam – it was pathetic! I have subsequently discovered that Adobe has actually admitted that the exam was no good, and allowed all the Dreamwever 8 certificate holders to maintain their ACE status.(usually one must continually maintain their status by writing re-certifications).

    Check out the bad response to the InDesign exam to see what I am talking about:
    http://indesignsecrets.com/crazy-indesign-cs3-ace-practice-questions.php

    … oh and by the way! You can BUY the exact exam questions on various websites(http://www.pass-guaranteed.com/). I guarantee 70% of your exam questions are in there!

  20. I admit that while I was doing the DW exam, there were times when I thought long and hard on the meaning of the questions. But then that happens in real life too. I received emails from customers on tech support questions all the time and very often the questions weren’t clear and I had to write my email based on many assumptions. So I guess I am used to that.

  21. if anyone have adobe photoshop cs3 ace exam, plese send me?
    Thanks very much.

  22. I am currently studying for the Flex 3 ACE exam. Can anyone help as to what exactly to study? Anything else would be sufficient as well.

    Thanks! KaM

  23. I want to do ACE in DW CS3. Any help ???

  24. Rahul, even though Dreamweaver is a visual tool, you would want to have a basic understanding of the html, css, javascript code, etc to prepare for the exam. Good luck.

  25. Thanks Brian,

    I am also looking out for some online resources which will give me a feel of the exam. what are the different types of questions asked etc..

  26. hi, i just took the ace exam for abobe indesign cs3 (9A0-055) and failed. two weeks ago i went to http://www.pass-guaranteed.com/default.htm and downloaded their practice test questions but very few of them appeared on the exam, so i can’t recommend them. they guarantee you will pass or you get a full refund so i’ve applied for it. i’ll let you know how that works out. in the meantime i’m looking for a site that sells a better practice test. if anyone knows of one please post it here and let me know. i’ve heard examaids.com/ is good so comments on them would be greatly appreciated too. it’s a tough exam but i know with the right preparation i can pass it. thanks!

  27. I took the ace exam for Adobe Dreamweaver CS3, i’ve learned from help and pass with 97%. I recommend everyone to learn from help…

  28. Can anyone tell me is there exam for Foreworks CS4?

  29. Hi Folks..

    Any idea when the Dreamweaver CS4 certification will be relased? As of now I can’t find any news on it.

    • I don’t know. I would think it would be at least 6 months after the product is released, given that a requirement of the certification is (if I remember correctly) that the user should have at lease 6 months experience of using the software.

  30. Hello Brian,

    Now that some years have passed since you first started this page, I am wondering if the Exam(s) were worthwhile in the long run (professionally, personally) and have you taken (or plan to take) any of the CS4 exams?

  31. I am going for Adobe CS5 Exam on Feb. Wish me best of luck and please advice preferable website for practicing.

  32. **I am going for Adobe Photophop CS5 exam

  33. Fantastic goods from you, man. I have consider your stuff prior to and you’re simply extremely magnificent. I actually like what you’ve got here, certainly like
    what you are saying and the way in which wherein you assert it.

    You make it entertaining and you continue to take care of to stay it smart.
    I can’t wait to learn much more from you. This is actually a wonderful web site.

Leave a Reply

 
