Where is the Flash Element in Dreamweaver CS3?

I was looking for the Flash Element in Dreamweaver CS3 yesterday. For DW 8 and before users, the Flash Element was a nice Flash object for use as a slide show in a web page. In DW CS3, the object is no longer at the object toolbar. I asked myself was the feature taken away. Fortunately, after some more digging I found it under the menu “Insert/Media/Image viewer…”. Interestingly, after I have inserted the object and selected that in the page, the “Tag” panel changed to the “Flash Element” panel and I could enter the parameters at the panel. What a relief!

~ by brianchau on July 17, 2007.

31 Responses to “Where is the Flash Element in Dreamweaver CS3?”

  1. i have been looking for it too…

  2. I find this is a great tool also. But do have one problem. The slideshow appears to fill my space within Dreamweaver, but when I view it from a browser from my computer there appears to be unwanted space above, below and on the sides. Do you know how I can remove it?

  3. Michelle, the image viewer should not fill the DW space. It should be of the size according to the width and height as shown at the properties inspector. Try put in the settings if there were missing at the PI.

  4. I am creating a slideshow using the Flash viewer for my website re-desgin. Does a browser need to have Flash installed to make it work? In other words, should I include a link to download Flash if they don’t have it?

    Thanks
    Cindy

  5. Michelle,
    I am also having this problem. My flash player is set as 195 px by 130 px (my images are the same size). When I hit play the images are smaller than 195 x 130 space around the pictures. I have tried “no border”, “exact fit”, “resize” and can’t figure it out. HELP!!!

  6. I am running into the same issue

  7. You can try setting the bgColor at the Flash element inspector to the background color of your web page. That would make it blend in with the html page.

  8. With the background color the same as your site that eliminates the border but the image still does not fill the speced space. How do you get the images to fill the speced image viewer window?

  9. No, the image won’t fill up the entire flash element viewer. There is the controls which we can hide, but there is still the padding (if that is the right word) of the viewer which cannot be set to zero.

  10. Hi webmaster!

  11. I am delighted to see that the CS3 Image Viewer is basically working for others. When I try to view my slide show (now a single picture), I get a blank page – only the html title shows. I’ve spent hours trying to fix it, but no luck. Any ideas? Try this to see it:

    http://www.gowew.com/Slideshow/_Slideshow.html

  12. George, make usre the flash file, SlideViewer.swf in your case is uploaded to the server as well. And also check that the server has the MIME type set properly for the swf file.

  13. I’m having the same problem as George. Seems like his is working now but I don’t know how to get mine to work. I tested out with a simple page now with only the image viewer and the page just loads blank. Any idea on how to fix it? Both the swf file and the html file as well as all the image jpegs are uploaded to the server.

    Here’s the test site: http://www.monicamccardle.com/weddings/test.html

  14. Monica, did you check the MIME type to see if it has been configured probably?

  15. I’m not sure how to do that. I made the image viewer slideshow with Dreamweaver so I thought everything should be configured properly automatically. When I preview the page with a browser through Dreamweaver everything looks fine, but when I upload to my server and view it on a browser, there’s no slideshow!?!

  16. Monica, what if you upload an ordinary flash page to the web server, would that display from the browser?

    To learn about MIME type, search MIME from the Flash Help. There is also a technote on MIME type configuration for the web server at:

    http://www.adobe.com/go/tn_4151

  17. I was trying to edit the look and colour of the control panel of the image viewer and I have no idea where to go to do so, or if it can be done

  18. I’m looking for the FlASH elements panel in CS4 ? Help? How do I find it?

  19. Can the border/padding in the image viewer not be removed? I have a white background but a shaded box that needs to go against the flash banner(image viewer), but I’m getting this unwanted white space in between….what can be done ??
    thanx

    • I am not sure if this can be done. Unfortunately the flash element has been deprecated in Dreamweaver CS4 and I can’t test it now as I have removed DW CS3 on my machine.

  20. I am having the same problem of unwanted space showing up around a Flash element. It looks fine in Internet Explorer, but Firefox and Safari adds unwanted space to the top and or left of any inserted Flash element. Any ideas on how to fix? If I Align Left, it fixes the problem in Safari and Firefox, but then messes everything up in IE.

  21. I’m having problems right at the beginning with imageviewer, very frustrating. Would be great to get some great-minds to explain what I’m missing here… I place the insertion point on the page, click insert>media>image viewer, then save it on the same location as the index.html as “pictures” or whatever…. then when I click save a text pops up saying “the imageviewer flash element could not be found”….. WHAT am I missing here????? heeeelp, I really just want a simple slideshow!

  22. I am having the issue where the first slide will show up when you first download the webpage but when you click through the presentation, it will not reappear unless you type 1 into the slide number box. Thoughts??

  23. I’m having problems right at the beginning with imageviewer, very frustrating. Would be great to get some great-minds to explain what I’m missing here… I place the insertion point on the page, click insert>media>image viewer, then save it on the same location as the index.html as “pictures” or whatever…. then when I click save a text pops up saying “the imageviewer flash element could not be found”….. WHAT am I missing here????? heeeelp, I really just want a simple slideshow!

  24. HI THE IMAGE VIEWER IS NOT AVAILABLE IN DREAMWEAVER CS4. SO HOW CAN I CREATE A SLIDESHOW IN CS4?

  25. So did this never get answered.. Damn! I have the issue now… spacing around flash animations. tried vspace, hspace, border 0.. argh!

  26. Ok I worked it out.. Here is the solution to extra space/spacing around a flash in dreamweaver while in firefox browser. The answer is:

    solution was to put the code in a div with the correct height:

    FLASH CODE

    Bam!

  27. Having great trouble in finding the flash element object in CS5, anyone know where I can find this?

  28. I waS aLsO maKiNg a SlIdEshow buT i cant find flasT eLement =(

Leave a Reply

 
