Streaming Flash Video onto Windows Mobile phones

In my previous post, I mentioned that there is the Flash Lite 3.1 distributable player available at the Adobe Labs. I have since then built a few Flash Lite apps and tested on the HTC Touch Diamond phone which is running WM6.1.

One application was to stream video from the Flash Media Server 3.5 with the video stream coming from my webcam captured with the Flash Media Live Encoder.

Initially I couldn’t have rtmp connection on my Touch Diamond and I wonder what it was. Turned out I could connect if it was via WiFi but not 3G. Apparently the rtmp protocol may have been blocked from the operator (Telstra) 😦

But even with WiFi, the playback was very slow and indeed no audio came out from the phone. On further investigation, it was because I have unintentionally set the audio codec as NellyMoser instead of MP3. But once I changed it back to Mp3, everything streamed beautifully. 🙂

The code is something like:

var my_vid:Video;
var nc:NetConnection = new NetConnection();
nc.connect(“rtmp://myDomain.com/myApp”);
var ns:NetStream = new NetStream(nc);
my_vid.attachedVideo(ns);
ns.play(“myStream”);

~ by brianchau on March 9, 2009.

6 Responses to “Streaming Flash Video onto Windows Mobile phones”

  1. На сайте какие-то проблемы с кодировкой.

  2. На сайте какие-то проблемы с кодировкой.

  3. Vell, nоt pеrfесt pоst, but I liked it аnd that is thе mаin thing. 😉
    I am Voli Dublino

  4. Hi Brian,
    I’ve resisted AS3 for some time now, but it’s unfortunately catching up with me at work. I’m looking for seriously good training in Sydney for CS4 & AS3. We went with Dynamic Web Training last time, we’re not going there again! Know anyone good or are there video tutorials worth buying?
    Also, I participated in a few eseminars you hosted for adobe and feel you are the best person to get a direct answer…I know you probably get 5 million help me questions…Can you tell me if I’m on the right track? I’ve always animated with simple animations and interactivity in Flash, but now I’d like to increase the amount of interactivity I’m creating using AS. I would like to create an interactive click area > users click the areas > the areas stay highlighted. I tried this with mc_btn x 18. User clicks mc_btns > mc_btns highlight (gotoAndStop), problem is I can’t get more than one button to highlight and stay highlighted.
    Your help is greatly appreciated!!!!

    Le Hoa

  5. Seems good to me. (flex bahth house)

  6. Mr. Brian Chau
    I’m eager to test your application to stream video on HTC Touch Diamond.
    Can I have your application for the time being?

Leave a Reply

 
