Over-the-Air (OTA) installation of Flash Lite 3.1 player now in Australia

Today I have tested the OTA installation of Flash Lite 3.1 player on my Touch Diamond phone running WM6.5. It worked! I tested both when the phone was connected via Wifi and 3G (NextG from Telstra). It works like this:

When a flash lite app as a cab file is installed on the Windows Mobile phone, it installed and then checked if the Flash Lite 3.1 run-time is already in the phone or not. If not, it then asks to download and install the Flash Lite player. Click yes and the download and installation process will go ahead. No drama.

My colleague, Andrew Spaulding told me he  has tested the OTA successfully on his Nokia phone too.

I was at a MS breakfast event yesterday and MS was promoting their Windows Mobile Marketplace. I have a feeling that a Flash Lite application hosted at the WM Marketplace should work, just like any WM native apps. That may mean Flash developers should be able to develop and sell Flash Lite apps to the WM users via the Marketplace. If true, that is good news for Flash developers.

Update: Probably won’t pass the MS certification test. I was told that one of the requirement is for the app to have a clean uninstall. I tested Flash Lite 3 app uninstall and found that there are traces of files sitting on the program folder :(.

~ by brianchau on May 23, 2009.

One Response to “Over-the-Air (OTA) installation of Flash Lite 3.1 player now in Australia”

  1. Hi Brian,
    I’ve been trying to use the Adobe Mobile Packager to make a test ap for Symbian OS but the version I just downloaded doesn’t seem to let you do self-signed anymore. Do you know anything about this? The Mobile Packager ap for download is now different to all of the videos that explain how to use it and I don’t think I can test an app without Symbian Signing (which isn’t cheap.
    Any help would be much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

 
