Publish eBook with InDesign

There seems to be increasing interests in eBook in my conversation with teachers. I have recently started experimenting with publishing eBooks using InDesign. The process was easier than I thought. Yes, there are some guidelines to folllow, like how to layout images and text, how to create chapters and TOC, etc…The docs at: http://www.adobe.com/products/indesign/epub/howto/ are excellent reference materials.

I then tested and published a sample eBook in EPUB format. It displayed well in my laptop running Adobe Digital Editions. And when I connected my HTC Touch Pro 2 phone which runs Windows Mobile 6.5 to the laptop, the Digital Editions let me sync (copy) the eBook onto the phone. The phone comes with the HTC eReader which registered the eBook and displayed it perfectly! Wonderful.

I am starting to like EPUB format. I can only hope that it will be continuously developed and enhanced. If only it can support rich media (like Flash) and interactivities, that would be great.

~ by brianchau on April 10, 2010.

2 Responses to “Publish eBook with InDesign”

  1. Should give this a whirl Brian! Drop a swf into the EPUB file and it will play! Provided of course the device you are playing it on has Flash installed…

  2. Hello, after reading this remarkable paragraph i am
    too cheerful to share my experience here with colleagues.

Leave a Reply

 
