Displaying Acrobat.com site on Android devices

Last year, I bought myself the Barnes and Noble NookColor which is an eReader tablet running on Android 2.1. I have been reading a few eBooks since then. Steve Jobs may think everyone needs 10-inch tablet. But not me. I prefer 7-inch over 10-inch any day. It is very portable and a perfect size for me.

A few weeks ago, I started rooting it to run Android 2.2 (Froyo) and installed Flash and AIR on it. Everythings went very well. I start to think my NookColor is more like a digital notepad for me until one day I can get an HTC Flyer which comes with the support of a digitzer pen. For now though the NookColor would do.

I have a problem though when I try Acrobat.com on NookColor. The browser detection from Acrobat.com site stops it from displaying on a mobile device. Bummer. Fortunately I learned yesterday how to force the browser to act like a desktop browser. Here are the steps:

  1. type in about:debug at the browser address bar (no http://) and click “Enter”
  2. click on Menu and select More
  3. click on Settings
  4. click on “UAString” and select “Desktop”

That’s it. The user agent now tells the webserver that the browser is a desktop browser and the Acrobat.com site displays successfully. Now my NookColor is even more useful to me. Yay:)

 

~ by brianchau on February 26, 2011.

2 Responses to “Displaying Acrobat.com site on Android devices”

  1. Thanks a lot Brian ! Great post and a big deal for all buzzword users messing about with Android. It works !

  2. I did what you said, but when I want to sign in on Adobe Acrobat on my Android smartphone, I do not get a keyboard when I tap on the Adobe ID or Password field. Could someone help me out?

Leave a Reply

 
