My Windows 8 Consumer Preview experience so far

I have been using the Windows 8 Consumer Preview for a few months now on my Thinkpad X300 (at a resolution of 1280×800) and I have to say it is very stable and smooth so far. I have no problems running Adobe CS6. I particularly like the very fast boot-up time of Win 8 and the quick toggle between Metro and the traditional desktop screen using the Windows Key. I don’t understand why some people complain about the Metro screen. To me it is a quick way to start a software. On Win 7, I would have to click the Start Button, then navigate through the Program list to locate the software. On the Metro screen, the software appear in the tile and it is one-click to start the software. Of course, the search function is still there, just like in Win 7. I don’t miss the Start button at all. It can go.

Suddenly the Windows Key seems very important to me and that leads me to think that a Windows 8 tablet (as distinct from the Win RT tablet) better has a dedicated hardware key to function like the Windows key.

For now, I think Microsoft has managed to create a nice hybrid OS suitable for both the touch and mouse interactions. Finally a unified OS across tablets and desktops.

~ by brianchau on May 27, 2012.

One Response to “My Windows 8 Consumer Preview experience so far”

  1. “Finally a unified OS across tablets and desktops.”

    Windows XP was a unified OS across tablets and desktops. Or have you forgotten Windows XP Tablet Edition (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_XP_editions#Tablet_PC_Edition)? Microsoft has had a hybrid OS for nearly 10 years now! Look how successful that was.

Leave a Reply

 
